Canberra Business Chamber announces annual results and new board members

Karyn Starmer14 December 2021
Graham Catt

Canberra Business Chamber CEO Graham Catt. Photo: Canberra Business Chamber.

Four new board members were appointed at the Canberra Business Chamber annual general meeting held on 29 November.

In a tough year for ACT businesses, the Chamber maintained steady membership numbers after growing by 20 per cent in 2020.

The Chamber reported an operating surplus and the launch of new services for members.

“In a difficult year like 2021, more than ever, it is critical that we are both listening to and speaking for business,” Canberra Business Chamber CEO Graham Catt said.

“We’ve worked hard to ensure that the media, government and the community understand how critical business will be to the Territory’s recovery and long-term prosperity,” Mr Catt explained.

“We have focused on listening to our members, providing timely information and resources, supporting employers with workplace relations advice, and making sure that governments and the community understand what business needs.”

In 2021, the Chamber launched new services for employers to help with recruitment and access to HR documents, including Canberra Business Buzz, an online, multi-topic community forum to help businesses connect and share information.

READ ALSO: Canberra law firm recognised for explosive growth and people-centric workplace

Mr Catt said providing networking opportunities, facilitating business connections and supporting international trade are all core activities of the Chamber.

“We were unable to run many major events due to COVID restrictions but moved quickly to offer the COVID-safe return of business networking in July 2020 and to offer more online opportunities.”

Following the retirement of long-standing directors Craig Sloan (KPMG), Vicki Williams (University of Canberra) and Jo Metcalfe (GHD), four new directors were elected to the board – ACT General Manager CPA Australia Matthew Andrews, Managing Director Access Recognised Training Mark Field, Nexus Human Services CEO Lisa McPherson, and owner of The Pop Inn and Manager Advocacy and Engagement CPA Kimberley Ohayon.

“Craig, Vicki and Jo have made a huge contribution to the Chamber and to the Canberra business community, and on behalf of all members, I would like to thank them for their commitment and outstanding contribution to the Chamber over many years.”

The continuing board members are Scott Leggo from the Scott Leggo Gallery; Lifeline Canberra CEO Carrie Leeson; Canberra FM general manager Craig Wagstaff; Canberra Airport head of property Richard Snow; and Capital Recruit director Sarah Rajic.

Chamber chair Archie Tsirimokos said, “We welcome our new directors as we continue to focus on long-term growth.”

For a full copy of the Annual Report, visit Canberra Business Chamber.

Original Article published by Karyn Starmer on Riotact.

What's Your Opinion?