Business Chamber board diversifies with three new faces

Ian Bushnell15 December 2019
Craig Wagstaff

Canberra FM General Manager Craig Wagstaff. Photo: File.

Canberra Business Chamber has elected three new directors to its board after its recent round of board elections and appointments.

The new faces come from the broadcasting, community service and arts retail sectors, reflecting a wide spectrum of business activity.

They are Canberra FM general manager Craig Wagstaff, Lifeline Canberra CEO Carrie Leeson and owner and co-founder of Scott Leggo Photographic Gallery, Scott Leggo.

Carrie Leeson

Lifeline Canberra CEO Carrie Leeson. Photo: File.

Current chairman Archie Tsirimokos has been re-elected by the board for another term, as has deputy chair Keith Cantlie. Vicki Williams, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Finance & Infrastructure) at the University of Canberra, will take on the role of Treasurer.

Chamber CEO Dr Michael Schaper said membership of the Chamber had been growing significantly in recent months, and the elections for the board this year were reflective of the increased member interest.

“The ballot was one of the most competitive in many years, with nine nominations and a record turnout of voters,” he said.

Scott and Phillipa Leggo

Scott and Phillipa Leggo in their Kingston gallery. Photo: Supplied

The new directors join KPMG’s Craig Sloan; head of property at Canberra Airport, Richard Snow; director, Capital Recruit, Sarah Rajic; and GHD’s ACT and Southern NSW manager, Jo Metcalfe.

“The Chamber is Canberra’s peak industry association, representing a wide range of individual businesses and industry sectors, as well as both small business and larger enterprises. The range of our office bearers now reflects that diversity,” Dr Schaper said.

Original Article published by Ian Bushnell on The RiotACT.

What's Your Opinion?